



WINNER European Capital of Innovation

Torino

#iCapitalAwards

Organisations and initiatives Events All Europe Countries News Torino and Braga iCapitals of Europe for 2024-25





The two cities were chosen for their efforts to provide innovative solutions for their citizens.

Torino and Braga are the winners of the European Commission's 2024-25 <u>European Capital of Innovation (iCapital) award</u>. The prize is funded by the EU's Horizon Europe research and innovation programme and is awarded to cities that are leading the way in delivering innovative solutions for their citizens.

According to the Commission's announcement, Torino demonstrates a comprehensive approach to experimentation and innovation, using its rich history and industrial heritage to address both current and future urban challenges. Braga has developed a range of innovative solutions, from technologybased clusters to cultural and creative industries, and has created a strong innovation ecosystem with a focus on collaboration and inclusivity.

The award ceremony took place on 13 November 2024 in Lisbon at the Web Summit, one of the world's largest technology events. Commissioner Iliana Ivanova presented the awards to cities that have integrated innovation into everyday urban life, promoting sustainable, inclusive and resilient communities.

In addition to the main category winners, the Commission announced the first and second runners-up in each category:

European Capital of Innovation category

- Turin, winner
- Espoo, runner-up
- West Midlands Combined Authority, runner-up

Emerging European Innovative City category

- Braga, winner
- Linz, 2nd place
- Oulu, 3rd place

The winner of the European Capital of Innovation category, Turin, received a prize of €1 million, while the two runners-up received €100,000 each.

The winner of the European Rising Innovative City category,





Braga, received €500,000 and the two runners-up received €50,000 each.

Supported by the European Innovation Council under Horizon Europe, the European Capital of Innovation Awards, also known as iCapital, celebrate cities with dynamic, inclusive innovation ecosystems.

The competition recognises those urban centres that successfully bring together citizens, academic institutions, businesses and public authorities to drive transformative change.

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the iCapital Awards. The award was launched in 2014. Previous winners include Barcelona (2014), Amsterdam (2016), Paris (2017), Athens (2018), Nantes (2019), Leuven (2020), Dortmund (2021), Aix-Marseille Provence Metropole (2022) and Lisbon (2023) as European Capitals of Innovation. Previous winners in the category of Emerging Innovative City include Vantaa (2021), Haarlem (2022) and Linköping (2023).

The winners are chosen following an evaluation by two highlevel juries of independent experts.

--

Photo source



