

## All CCS and Cross-sectoral

The European Union Prize for Literature 2024 nominees announced





The prestigious prize rewards the best-emerging authors from countries participating in the Creative Europe Programme. The Prize celebrates linguistic diversity and excellence of literature across Europe.

The <u>European Union Prize for Literature</u> (EUPL) has named 13 authors as nominees for its 2024 edition. The prize aims to showcase European diversity, raise the profile of authors outside their home country and promote the publication/sale of books <u>across Europe</u>. It encourages the transnational circulation of literature within Europe and beyond. The EUPL recognises 41 <u>outstanding new literary talents across Europe</u> over a three-year cycle. It promotes the transnational circulation of literature within Europe and beyond. In 2022, changes have been made to the overall organisation of the prize, including that a seven-member European jury will select an overall winner and five special mentions each year. The winner and five special mentions will be announced on 4 April at the Brussels Book Fair.

The names of the 2024 nominees are Aleks Farrugia (Malta), Arbia Braham (Tunisia), Bojan Krivokapić (Serbia), Daina Tabūna (Latvia), Deniz Utlu (Germany), Gabriela Ruivo (Portugal), María Elísabet Bragadóttir (Iceland), Puskás Panni (Hungary), Rita Petro (Albania), Sholeh Rezazadeh (Netherlands), Theis Ørntoft (Denmark), Tina Vrščaj (Slovenia), Todor Todorov (Bulgaria). The EUPL aims to promote literary circulation in Europe and interest in non-national works. The EUPL aims to highlight the creativity and diversity of European fiction, to promote literary circulation in Europe and to stimulate interest in non-national works.

Organised in 3-year cycles by a consortium including the Federation of European Publishers (FEP) and the International and European Booksellers Federation (EIBF), the prize has honoured 176 authors since 2009. Selected works reach a wider international audience across linguistic borders. The seven members of the jury are Andrei Kurkov, Elena Loewenthal,





Kostas Spatharakis, Daniel Medin, Aurélie Bontout Roche, Raluca Selejan and Tauno Vahter.

European Commissioner Iliana Ivanova said:

"The nominees for the European Union Prize for Literature - 13 voices from 13 countries - represent the richness of literary expression across Europe. I congratulate all the nominees, wish them every success in the final round and look forward to congratulating the winners on 4 April. One thing is certain: European literature and its remarkable diversity have already won. We will soon celebrate this with the Day of European Authors on 25 March".

Ricardo Franco Levi, President of the Federation of European Publishers:

"One of Europe's riches is the wealth of languages read throughout the region. Thanks to the EUPL, professionals all over the world have the chance to discover new literary talents. On behalf of the Federation of European Publishers, I hope that all the nominated authors will find an audience beyond their borders, through the talents of translators and publishers who believe in sharing stories with their fellow Europeans".

Jean-Luc Treutenaere, Co-President of the European and International Booksellers Federation:

"Once again, the EUPL has done what it does best: showcasing the richness and diversity of European literature, and each year highlighting some of the most promising fiction writers from the participating countries. But what matters is the lasting contribution that each of these novels makes to the cultivation of European literature. On behalf of the European and International Booksellers Federation, I would like to congratulate all the authors and I can hardly wait to see their works on the shelves of bookshops across Europe".



